I Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy Legend by Martin Short

I Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy LegendI Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy Legend by Martin Short
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 stars. Martin Short is a likeable guy who knows some very famous people. His clear love for what he does and for his family shines through. The last two chapters, where he discusses his wife’s illness and death, were very moving. Friends tell me that the audio book is hilarious. I may have to check that out too.

Reading this book also reminded me of just how out there some of his characters were. My teenage daughter uses the phrase “I must say” with great regularity. About the time I finished the book, I really became aware of how often she says it. She’d never heard of Ed Grimley, so we looked up a YouTube video in which he was featured. Now she says it with Ed Grimley’s inflection. It never fails to make me smile.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

