Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler

Breathing LessonsBreathing Lessons by Anne Tyler
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Meh. I kept reading, but couldn’t really identify with the characters. I found it hard to believe that these people are less than ten years older than I am. Either my mental age is a lot lower than my chronological age or forty-seven is a lot less middle aged than it used to be.

It also felt to me like the story really didn’t go anywhere. The characters didn’t change and the narrative didn’t move forward. If the intent was to show a slice of the characters’ lives, then it succeeded, but I didn’t get the sense that anything in their lives was going to be different after the book ended.

I still want to read some of her other books so that I can see if it’s something about her writing style that bugs me or if was just these characters.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

