The Intern’s Handbook by Shane Kuhn

The Intern's Handbook: A ThrillerThe Intern’s Handbook: A Thriller by Shane Kuhn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d actually rate this 3.5 stars, but that isn’t an option on GoodReads. The idea for this book was really interesting. The execution (so to speak) worked pretty well, although I found myself skipping over the details of the fight scenes toward the end. There was just a little too much gratuitous description for my taste.

I kept thinking that it reminded me of a cross between Grosse Pointe Blank and Burn Notice (or maybe Covert Affairs, which makes sense because the author is a screenwriter.
I liked the way the main character changed during the book. The first person narration made it easier to see that his image of himself shifted as the story progressed. Often, books like this don’t feature character development, so that’s definitely a plus. I also really enjoyed the snarky tone. I think that’s what brought Burn Notice to mind for me.

Overall, worth a look.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

