The Sebastian St. Cyr series by CS Harris

I’ve had these on my To Read list for awhile. I finally started reading the first book, What Angels Fear, in late April. By mid-May, I had finished book eight (What Darkness Brings). To say that I enjoyed them would be an understatement. In fact, I’m disappointed that I’ll have to wait nearly a year for book nine.

Harris does an exceptional job of integrating politics, class, and murder into each novel. I especially like the political intrigue. There’s also a larger story arc involving St. Cyr’s relationship with his family and with the two women in his life.

My only complaint about the series (which I only noticed because I read them all in about three weeks) is that some more modern English usage/slang seems to slip into the dialogue occasionally. Otherwise, these are very well researched and written.

Highly recommended for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Lord John Grey books (which I’m reading now), The Pink Carnation Series by Lauren Willig, or the longer form Regency era romances by Mary Jo Putney.

One thought on “The Sebastian St. Cyr series by CS Harris

  1. Hi there Laura-

    Not sure how many books are in your next reading queue, but I wanted to see if you were wiling to do a review on my first novel coming out this September. It is called All That Glitters and it is a crime/urban fantasy. It centers around a jewelry thief on the hunt for an item said to be blessed with ancient magic. He won’t give up until he finds it…or unless someone else either gets in his way or gets to it first…all in the meantime covering up his identity from a growing social life and the local buzz around town. It’s a story about identity, human faults and chasing dreams.

    I would love to be in touch, please email me at your convenience. If not soon, maybe we can work something out when All That Glitters is officially out in print.

    Thank you so much for your time!

Leave a Reply

