Undead and Unfinished by Mary Janice Davidson

The ninth installment in the Undead series, featuring Betsy Taylor, blonde bimbo vampire queen from Minneapolis. Again with the jacket copy (because I read this two months ago):

Vampire Queen Betsy Taylor is fed up of trying to decipher the strange things prophesied in The Book of the Dead. At the end of her tether, she strikes a deal with Satan who promises to help – if she and her half-sister Laura pay a visit to Hell. Hell, it would seem, is more terrifying than Betsy could have ever imagined – a waiting room with bad carpeting, re-runs of 70s TV shows and ancient Good Housekeeping magazines. But when Betsy and Laura find themselves catapulted back and forth through time, they realize they could seriously screw everything up for good…

These books are like potato chips. They’re totally lacking in nutrition, but are generally a lot of fun. I’m beginning to find Betsy a little tiresome though. I think I need a little more substance with my fluff. That being said, the time travel aspect of the story made for interesting reading, although it messes with my head a bit. I’ll definitely pick up the next in the series from the library.

2 thoughts on “Undead and Unfinished by Mary Janice Davidson

  1. I gave up on these several books ago, since Betsy annoys me way too much. It could be that I read a bunch of them in a row and noticed that the plots and the jokes were all the same (and that the jokes weren’t that funny to me, either).

    I really like Molly Harper’s “Nice Girls” trilogy, which begins with “Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs.” Children’s librarian gets fired, drowns her sorrows, and gets turned into a vampire. It’s a funny fish-out-of-water vampire story with romantic elements, but with a more intelligent heroine.

    1. Betsy is annoying, but with long stretches between books, I can deal. I keep thinking I’ll stop, then I see a new one and put my name on the hold list. Thanks for the recommendation too. I haven’t heard of Molly Harper and they sound fun.

Leave a Reply

