Red Hook Road by Ayelet Waldman

I finished this in early August, so my recollection of the plot is rather slim at this point. From the jacket copy:

Set on the coast of Maine over the course of four summers, Red Hook Road tells the story of two families, the Tetherlys and the Copakens, and of the ways in which their lives are unraveled and stitched together by misfortune, by good intentions and failure, and by love and calamity.

A marriage collapses under the strain of a daughter’s death; two bereaved siblings find comfort in one another; and an adopted young girl breathes new life into her family with her prodigious talent for the violin.

Although it’s been two months since I finished this (I really need to blog more often), certain parts of the story really stuck with me. I was reluctant to start this one because of the intensity of the subject matter. I really expected it to be a depressing book. It isn’t. Instead, it’s surprisingly uplifting. All of the characters deal with their grief in their own ways and they all come through to the other side.

I think my favorite pieces of writing in the book were her descriptions of the music and the way Samantha and Mr. Kimmelbrod bonded over his violin. Another thing that really stuck with me is how Ruthie and Matt wanted to talk about Becca and John so that people would remember them. I have that same feeling about my dad. I think that’s true of most people when they lose someone close to them. It’s important to talk about them with the people who knew them because it’s a way of keeping them alive a little longer.

I miss you, Dad.

Leave a Reply

