Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris

I’ve gotten behind on blogging the books I read (or I’m reading too fast). Either way, this is the first of five books that I read during my week off in mid-August. I’ve also managed to finish two after returning to work. I’ll be catching up with my mini-reviews over the next week or so. One down, six to go.

The tenth book in the Sookie Stackhouse series finds Sookie recovering from the fairy attack that killed a friend and nearly herself and Bill, her former lover, who also happens to be a vampire. Meanwhile, just as Sookie has settled into a relationship with the Viking vampire Eric, his “maker” appears with Eric’s ‘brother’, who is more than a little crazy. To further complicate matters, the werewolves tell Sookie that someone has been sneaking around her property. Turns out that she’s about to meet a very distant relative.

If all of this sounds like a supernatural soap opera, that’s because it is. I gave this book three stars on GoodReads and will continue to read the series, but it’s becoming a little too close to daytime drama for my taste. I like Harris’ Harper Connelly books much better. The characters seem to have more depth.

Leave a Reply

