Backseat Saints by Joshilyn Jackson

Ro Grandee is the perfect Texas housewife. She is determined not to be like her mother, who left her with her abusive father when she was a little girl. She’s going to be perfect for her husband, who might just kill her someday. Beneath Ro’s surface lurks Rose Mae Lolley, a teenaged Alabama spitfire who is brought to the surface when Ro meets a gypsy woman at the Amarillo airport who tells her that her husband is going to beat her to death unless she gets him first.

Rose Mae was a minor character in Jackson’s first novel, gods in Alabama. As much as I loved gods and as well-written as this book is, I just didn’t like it as much as I wanted to. I think it’s because it was darker than I expected and I wasn’t in the right mood for a dark book when I read it. Although it is a well-told story, I don’t think I’ll read it again.

Leave a Reply

